A Little Twist on the whole Angry Customer Thing

Posted: April 29, 2011 in Poor Customer Service

You may have already heard or read something about ≤15% a bunch of shitty tips, the blog written by a disgruntled food deliveryman, where he “outs” poor tippers to his legion of followers.

Now on the one hand, here is a fellow who is not happy with his work.  Obviously.  But more importantly, this guy just don’t get it.  The customers ain’t the problem, bub.

First, let’s explore the concept of “tip.”  How’s this: http://www.investorwords.com/4990/tip.html – it refers to the OPTIONAL payment, over and beyond the required payment.

Businesses that offer delivery to their customers do so as COMPLIMENTARY (or low-priced) courtesy.  Any tip or gratuity involved is a show of appreciation regarding how the service is rendered.  NOT simply that it was rendered.

I know, life sucks.  Like it ain’t bad enough you’re stuck in this sucky job, but then ya gotta put up with cheap bastards that have plenty of money to stuff their faces, but sorry pal, not much left to tip ya with.  Catch ya on the rebound, yo!

Rebound, indeed.

Angry customers.  Angry service providers.  Chicken versus Egg.  Which came first?

Hell if I know, but Business versus Customer – who came first?  Trick question!  It doesn’t matter which came first, because the fact is, and always will be, that the business without customers is not a business, it is a hobby.  An expensive hobby.

But a customer without a business?  Hey, that’s somebody’s customer, just waiting to be wow’d by something.  The best thing you can wow her with is service.  It takes so little to provide a pleasant experience to for a customer, and most of them will be inclined to pay for that.  Again and again.  Service businesses have only operated like this for thousands of years…

The thing I like about the tipping part of certain commerce is that it gives me the opportunity to pay for performance.  It’s not like I look for bad service experiences, but when I encounter them, I do spread the word.  However, as a self-proclaimed customer service critic and chronicler, I also really like shining the light on businesses that GET IT.  I like to point out what makes them good (or what makes them suck).  And I tip accordingly.  I try to tip generously in any case, but within my own personal framework, there is a range of 15-20% for good service.  Great service gets at least 25% but the sky’s the limit.  Really.

But poor service?  Hate to break it to ya, sport, but <15% means the service SUCKED.  However you presented yourself and your product to this customer, you failed.  You did not do a very good job.  The customer was not compelled to give you a bigger tip, because when you deliver sub-par service, most people with a brain will give very little, if nothing, in gratuity.  For crappy service rendered by a sloppy, whiny man.  Or woman.

See, I’m not callin’ out the dude with the web site – I say good for him for using the tools at his disposal to get his message across.  But I don’t sympathize with the message, because good tips gotta be earned!!

Now, I don’t know this guy with the blog… But like Charles Barkley says, “I could be wrong, but I doubt it.”

Think about the level of service that YOU, as a customer, want to receive from businesses you patronize.  Is that the level of service you DELIVER to your customers?  Tell the truth.  At least to yourself, if not your boss.

Businesses… treat your employees well, so that they will want to treat your customers well.

Comments
  1. Laura says:

    Tipping keeps going up. When I was young, I was told that 10% was standard. Then somewhere along the line, 15% was. Now it is 20%. In the days of rising prices, a rising percentage can just KILL you. I’d like to tip generously, I really would. But when the definition of “generous” keeps getting bigger and bigger, I just can’t keep up!

  2. Phyllis Lundy says:

    Hi Chuck – I LOVE your post – it sounds just like the real you – not some zombie version of you!

Leave a Reply

